Is the Sky the Limit?

Don’t allow catchy phrases to have you thinking things are impossible! Some things that seem impossible are not really impossible at all, it just depends on who you are talking to. If I believe that I am capable of doing something, I capable of trying! We repeat phrases that were designed to encourage us. However, we do so without really thinking about what we are saying. We repeat them over and over just because we heard it from someone else, and that person got a thunderous applause!

All of our lives, we’ve looked to family members, teachers, or may be close friends for advice, hoping that we would get some sort of direction for what to do with the rest of our lives. No one gets it exactly right! When I wanted to go to college, I was told it’s too late – I was 30 years old! I went to college anyway, and I received three degrees – not to prove anyone wrong, I just simply believed that it was possible. I believe that education should never stop.

If you don’t find out much else about life, find out who you are and where you fit in this world. Otherwise, you will find yourself doing things just because it has “always been done that way.” This type of mentality kills creativity! Since I can remember, I have never been a fan of group think. Have I gotten in some heated conversations because I am a free thinker? Of course! Some of them led to debates that brought me to tears! I was told, “You’re a know it all,” You’re too critical, You are thinking too much into things,” etc. It still didn’t stop me from thinking, or dreaming. I am still determined to probe a thing until it makes sense to me! Tagging along with catchy phrases is not something I do. For example, another one of these phrases is, “Think Outside of the Box!”  Ooh! If I can do that, am I now special? Now, I ask you, why would I want to be confined to this “box” in the first place. Why just “think” out side of this box, when I can just get out of the box!

(I found out later that to solve the “out-of-the-box” puzzle, you have draw outside of it.)

Now that you see where I’m going with this, look for other words or phrases that are great at helping you limit yourself. Instead of wondering if the sky is the limit, start thinking about being unlimited!

Career counseling and development is available at the NCWorks Career Centers in Guilford County. See the “About” Page for location information.

By: Joan Tucker, CWDP

Leave a Reply

